Bergen, Norway 11 – 13 June, 2019


The winner of the UTF Subsea Award 2016 is OneSubsea® Multiphase Compressor

Bernt Helge Torkildsen and Simon Kalgraff, OneSubsea, and  Jarle Ottar Hella and Caroline Bøe, Statoil are recognized for their significant contributions to the OneSubsea’s Multiphase compressor technology



logo_utf_SUBSEA AWARD_GULLFour individuals from the operating and contracting community have been chosen as the winners of this year’s UTF Subsea award for their efforts in seeing a new technology through qualification and into engineering, procurement, construction and ultimately successful installation.

Bernt Helge Torkildsen and Simon Kalgraff,  from OneSubsea, and Jarle Ottar Hella and Caroline Bøe, from Statoil, were chosen by the UTF Subsea award jury for their significant contributions to OneSubsea’s Multiphase compressor technology and its successful first installation at the Gullfaks field, offshore Norway. They were nominated for the “stamina and visionary mindset” displayed as part of the work on this project over several years, which was instrumental in enabling this game-changing new technology to be brought to market for use on subsea gas fields.

With their help, two OneSubsea Multiphase compressors were put on stream in 2015, targeting an increase in recovery rate from 62% to 74% for the Gullfaks field. While they have since been temporarily removed, due to a leak in a utility cable not related to the compressor station delivered, Statoil has confirmed that the units had been operating to its satisfaction.

The jury recognized the removal of the need for upstream separation facilities and the ability for light vessel intervention as being among innovative steps contributing towards cost reduction in subsea technology.  The OneSubsea Multiphase compressors technology is also seen as having a global commercial potential for use on subsea gas fields.

The jury:

Magne Husebø, Chairman, UTF Council – Jury leader
Gisle Nondal, R&D Manager, GCE Subsea
Bjørn Søgård, Segment Director, Business Development, Subsea and Floaters, DNV GL
Elaine Maslin, Editor, Offshore Engineer Magazine
Dan Hill, Board of Directors, SPE International
Dr. Bob Allwood, Chief Executive of the Society for Underwater Technology (SUT)
Vidar Fondevik, Independent Advisor (NUI AS – recently retired)

About UTF Subsea Award

The Underwater Technology Foundation (UTF) Subsea Award is designed to recognize the many outstanding achievements within the subsea industry. The award can be given to a person or a group of people that have contributed to knowledge and understanding in subsea technology through new products, services and/or processes. On the basis of UTF position in the industry, UTF will credit the individuals behind new breakthroughs and innovation.  Furthermore, we will share the story of the winner, not only with you, but also through our partner Offshore Engineer, to a wider audience outside the UTC conference halls. The objective is to tell everyone with a brilliant idea what it takes to succeed and what all the work resulted in for the industry. The jury has been appointed by the UTF board and consists of prominent individuals from valuable UTF partners. The first UTF Subsea Award was awarded Tracerco for their Discoveryᵀᴹ at UTC 2015. The jury recognized Discovery’s™ innovative technology, the large global potential, the fact the technology is field proven with excellent results and that it contributes to both operators, IMR companies and suppliers. Paul Featonby, Technology Manager and Tim Hough, Discovery Technology Lead, both at Tracerco, are recognized for the technology and project execution.